KS4 English / £45 per hour

Ages 14 - 16

  • 1 hour
  • Online

About Me

I have been teaching both abroad and in Britain for over 10 years. My passion for 1:1 tutoring spans from my experience working with disadvantaged children in one of the most poverty-stricken provinces in Buenos Aires, to working as the private tutor for my school's Sheikh’s son in Qatar during my three years teaching out there. I am interested in all people, from all walks of life and with all educational backgrounds and wish to instill a love of learning in my lessons. I have high aspirations for students wishing to study for exams and for those just wanting to understand functional English or the creative aspects of the subject - I have had very positive results working with students 1:1 in exceeding their GCSE target grades as well as those studying their 11+ exams. I have been working for a home-education group in the woods near to where I live since September 2019 and have continued to learn and explore the importance of creativity, project-based learning and a level of autonomy on a student's learning path. I aim to reproduce what I have learnt in my years of experience to offer these skills to students who require a sense of ownership over what they learn; it is not my strategy to dictate or tell students what they need to know (unless, of course, studying for an exam). Learning comes from a place of genuine fascination and interest in a topic, and this can only come when a person feels respected, listened to and is given the right facilitation and direction in how to pursue those interests. Online tutoring has proven, since lockdown, to be more efficient at sharing resources and saving printed paper and travel expenses for both parties. If you have any questions please use my Q & A group and I will come back to you as soon as possible.